What You Say Isn’t As Important As Who You Say It To.

Today I’d like to share my thoughts on content creation and targeting.

It’s been drilled in my head that one of the basic tenets of marketing is choosing which piece of the pie is yours. And market segmentation and target marketing work on the premise that you’ve done your research beforehand. That means knowing who your customer is so you can deliver more value than competitors.

We’ve all seen examples of ads in unfortunate (or terrible) locations. It’s particularly funny for OOH ads that juxtapose an image or message with the most unlikely or inappropriate environment. But it can happen anywhere and in any context that advertisers try to deliver their message to consumers.

Now I know that there are advantages and disadvantages of both mass marketing and niche marketing but in the end, I believe this boils down to how well you know your customers. I often ask myself when I see an ad, how can you be the best choice in a sea of possibilities when you don’t even know me or what I want. Are you speaking to me directly?

I’m not saying that content doesn’t matter, of course it does. Say something offensive and just watch how fast the public backlash happens in response. Content is king and offering something of value is what will win you market share over competitors. The key is to make sure you’re choosing the right eyes. And you should always be customer focused with the end user in mind. Otherwise what’s the point? You might as well advertise light bulbs in a dark room.

One size does not fit all.

I always remember the Five Ws of journalism, “who” comes first and that’s the way I think it should be.

Leave a Reply

